Skip Site Navigation
Skip To Page Content

Gutierrez-Perez publishes on Pulse Nightclub in national journals

Dr. Robert Gutierrez-Perez recently published “A Journey to El Mundo Zurdo: Queer Temporality, Queer of Color Cultural Heritages” in Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies (one of the main and highly competitive journals sponsored by the National Communication Association).   Responding to the massacre at Pulse nightclub in Orlando, FL, this essay fuses scholarly writing with poetry and personal narrative to discuss queer temporality and the cultural inheritances of queer people of color. By connecting the events of Pulse nightclub with prior acts of violence against queer people of color, Gutierrez-Perez argues that the experiences and culture of queer people of color are a (post)colonial construct that is tentative, personal/political, and dangerous.

Gutierrez-Perez has continued this work and has also published in QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking as part of a special forum on queer autoethnography, “Bridging Performances of Auto/ethnography and Queer Bodies of Color to Advocacy and Civic Engagement.”  In this piece, he argues that research by marginalized communities is often dangerous work as their performances of everyday life are often violently silenced, policed, and oppressed. Meaning that queer of color auto/ethnography is intimately connected to advocacy and civic engagement. Utilizing the trauma of the massacre at Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Florida as a focal point, this poetic/research essay moves from the personal to the political and back to demand that the reader remember those lost during this horrific moment in history and to advocate for those still alive and fighting on the front lines of multiple battlegrounds for social justice.

Faculty Present on Writing Pedagogy at Crossings Conference

On April 2, 2017, Saralinda Kiser and Amy Pason presented on their strategies in teaching social science writing to undergraduates at the 2017 Crossings Conference held at UNR.  The Crossings Conference is sponsored by the Northern California Writing Centers Association/other west coast Writing Center Associations and was locally hosted by faculty and students from UNR’s Writing Center and Communication and Composition in the Disciplines programs.  Kiser and Pason presented an hour-long workshop relating public speaking pedagogy to their experiences in teaching students to write social science literature reviews in the COM 212: Introduction to Communication Studies Research course.  This conference was an opportunity for Kiser and Pason to learn from composition instructors as well as to share their knowledge and overlap of strategies from a communication studies perspective.

Debate Team National Champions!

Colorado Springs- The UNR Debate Team has returned from NPDA with extra luggage in tow. “Spending $25 of unanticipated budget money to check the National Champion Trophy isn’t a bad thing,” quipped Director Sharp in response to jokes about whether we needed to leave a Debater behind so the trophy had a seat on the plane.

This team is used to making jokes and having a lot of fun (and frugal budgeting). But the smiles are bigger than usual today. The team of Grace Miller and Daniel Armbrust finished in 9th place out of 141 teams. Daniel was awarded 8th speaker after the two went 7-1 and advanced as the #2 seed into elims. But the big news came when Grace outspoke the entire field.

This is the second time in the 24 year history of the NPDA Tournament that a Nevada debater has won the “Al” Johnson Top Speaker award. Max Alderman won it in 2011.

Miller was also recognized as an All-American. This award was given to 6 seniors who show academic success, community service, and debate success.

Based on a couple of 4-4 teams and one 2-6, the team earned 12th in Tournament Sweepstakes, besting Director Sharp’s Alma mater Western Washington by 1 spot.

The team is saying goodbye to seniors Daniel, Grace, and Evelyn Valencia. All 3 are incredible humans who care about their peers more than themselves. Their presence as debaters will be missed but their role as coaches will be appreciated. Though they will graduate, they will always be a part of the Pack.

Faculty Publish on Gun Cultures

Dr. Sarah Blithe (Department of Communication Studies) and Dr. Jennifer Lanterman (Department of Criminal Justice) recently published: Camouflaged Collectives: Managing Stigma and Identity at Gun Events in Studies in Social Justice (vol. 11, issue 1).  This interdisciplinary work is an ethnography of observing different gun shows and events where gun owners gather to learn more about their culture.  The researchers conclude:  when participants in gun events attempt to subvert core stigma through everyday stigma management practices, they effectively facilitate the unfettered exchange of potentially dangerous goods,  promote the invisibility of oppressive structures, and normalize violence.

Congratulations on the publication and representing the School of Social Research and Justice Studies!

Communication Instructor Elected to State Legislature

Jill Tolles was recently elected to serve in the Nevada State Assembly representing District 25.  Tolles earned her BA and MA in the Communication Studies department at UNR, and has been teaching public speaking, small group communication, and argumentation and debate for the department.  In 2013, she also joined the faculty of the National Judicial College. Jill instructs students and judges to think critically, ask questions, listen, resolve conflict and collaborate to find solutions to challenging problems. This led her to open her own small business leading trainings and consulting with companies and individuals on effective communication strategies.  Congrats to Jill for taking her communication skills to the legislature!

University Block N Logo

University of Nevada, Reno

University of Nevada, Reno
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89557-

(775) 784-1110
Contact Us

Accessibility Tools

Emergency Information
Emergency Alerts
Doing business with us